Health & Social Care (BTEC Level 1/Level 2 First Award)

(BTEC Level 1 / Level 2 First Award)

Examination Board



Course overview

BTECs are vocationally related qualifications, where students develop knowledge and understanding by applying their learning and skills in a work-related context. Additionally, they are popular and effective because they encourage students to take responsibility for their own learning and to develop skills that are essential for the modern-day workplace. These skills include: team working; working from a prescribed brief; working to deadlines; presenting information effectively; and accurately completing administrative tasks and processes. BTEC Firsts motivate students, and open doors to progression into further study and responsibility within the workplace.

This course aims to give students the opportunity to gain a broad understanding and knowledge of the health and social care sector today. It gives students a focused understanding of health and social care through the selection of optional specialist units.

Students will also have the opportunity to develop a range of personal skills and techniques, through the selection of units that are essential for successful performance in working life.

Course content

The course covers the content through different units. The first core unit of this qualification, which is externally assessed, provides learners with a solid foundation in human lifespan development. Learners will also gain an appreciation of the importance of health and social care values in the sector from the second core unit.

The two compulsory core units are:

·         Human Lifespan Development

·         Health and Social Care Values

A further two units will be studied, selected from the following:

·         Effective Communication in Health and Social Care

·         Social Influences on Health and Wellbeing

·         Promoting Health and Wellbeing

·         The Impact of Nutrition on Health and Wellbeing

·         Equality and Diversity in Health and Social Care

·         Individual Rights in Health and Social Care

The two units to be studied will be decided at the start of Year 10

How you will be assessed



Percentage of overall result

Human Lifespan Development

Exam – 1 hour


Unit 2
Health & Social Care Values

Internally set, assessed & marked assignment


Unit 3
to be confirmed

Internally set, assessed & marked assignment

Unit 4
to be confirmed

Internally set, assessed & marked assignment


BTEC Grade

Level 1 Pass

Level 2 Pass

Level 2 Merit

Level 2 Distinction

Level 2 Distinction*

GCSE Equivalent

1 - 3

Grades 4 to 8


Post-16 courses and careers

This BTEC First award will prepare you for any post-16 course, but specifically is leads well into the BTEC Level 3 Health & Social care course, which is the equivalent of 2 A Levels. The BTEC qualifications are the health and care industry’s recognised qualification which reflects the needs of employers, further and higher education representatives and professional organisations. Key stakeholders were consulted during the development of this qualification.